The SPARK Awards 2020

13 Honorees Celebrated for Community Engagement in the Mid-South

Thirteen organizations and individuals were honored on Monday, December 14 from 8:00 p.m. to 9:00 p.m., during The SPARK Awards 2020 special televised broadcast on WKNO/Channel 10.  The seventh annual televised awards show celebrates the efforts of individuals, nonprofits, corporations, and schools, in 13 different categories, who are igniting change and making a positive impact in the Greater Memphis community. The show is hosted by Tracy Bethea (of 95.7 Hallelujah FM) and Rob Grayson (of WKNO-FM). The SPARK Awards is produced in partnership by WKNO-TV and cityCURRENT.

Here are The SPARK Awards 2020 honorees in each category:


100 Employees or Fewer – Start2Finish Event Management

101-499 Employees – Radians

500+ Employees – Campbell Clinic



Budget under $1 million – Room in the Inn – Memphis

Budget $1-5 Million – Slingshot Memphis, Inc.

Budget Greater than $5 Million – Memphis Jewish Community Center



Leadership – Dr. Kandi Hill-Clarke

Educator – Roya Alizadegan

School – Frederick Douglass High Optional School



Adult – Paul A. Young

Collegiate – Nuanqiu Hou

Youth – Myles Butler



Bill Sehnert, Executive Director of the Peer Power Foundation

The SPARK Awards is an extension of the WKNO-TV series, The SPARK, a monthly 30-minute show, hosted by Jeremy C. Park, about business and community leaders who are fueling change and giving back to the Mid-South.  “The SPARK Awards grew from the success of our monthly show, The SPARK, which is now in its eighth year on WKNO,” notes Park. “With both shows our goal is simple: to spotlight the good taking place in our city and how we can become a SPARK to make an even larger difference and to help more people.”

Major funding for The SPARK and The SPARK Awards is provided by Lipscomb & Pitts Insurance and Champion Promotion as an additional major funder for The SPARK Awards. Additional funding is provided by SRVS, Meritan, Mueller Industries, United Way of the Mid-South, and My Town Movers/My Town Roofing/My Town Miracles. Event support for The SPARK Awards was provided by Nolan Audio Video Solution and Mahaffey Event & Tent Rentals.   A co-production of WKNO and cityCURRENT, The SPARK airs the third Friday of each month at 7:30 p.m. on WKNO/Channel 10.

Show More

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top button